Down Under Dissertation

Do I have to have a reason?

So why on earth would an Australian blogger select a page theme which shows a rather gormless-looking camel staring at a pyramid? Well, I suppose I liked the look of it and it seemed to say something to me about my place in the scheme of things  ………………………..

I met a traveller from an antique land
Who said: “Two vast and trunkless legs of stone
Stand in the desert. Near them on the sand,
Half sunk, a shattered visage lies, whose frown
And wrinkled lip and sneer of cold command
Tell that its sculptor well those passions read
Which yet survive, stamped on these lifeless things,
The hand that mocked them and the heart that fed.
And on the pedestal these words appear:
`My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings:
Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair!’
Nothing beside remains. Round the decay
Of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare,
The lone and level sands stretch far away”.

 Percy Bysshe Shelley » Ozymandias

Look on my works ye mighty, and despair
In case you don’t feel inclined to despair about the works I have left behind, you could try my feet; they are enough to make anybody despair.
Well, like Ozymandias, I suppose the camel seemed like a good idea at the time. It’s a sobering thought though and it makes me aware of my own mortality. Funny thing; this didn’t happen till I passed 70 and then left it far behind. In my remaining time, there are a few things I would like to say … whether anybody listens or not is barely relevant. I now have a platform from which to say. them.
But first – to plug our main blog sites – and if you are interested in Australia, in camping or the outdoors anywhere – take a look at http://ozcamper.wordpress.com/  which provides practical camping and travel information, as well as access to our 262-page ebook Camping Guide Australia.
Julie also has also published ebooks on warm-to-hot climate gardening at http://gardenezi.wordpress.com/ and maintains an Australian blog on travels, gardening, news and views at http://tambodreaming.wordpress.com/.
All books are available from Amazon as Kindle ebook downloads.
Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Down Under Dissertation

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Pingback: Home – Camping Guide Australia | Ozcamper's Blog

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.